1

3

4

5

6

7

8

10

11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

24

25

26

27

28

IN THE SECOND JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT OF THE STATE OF NEVADA
IN THE FOR THE COUNTY OF WASHOE

IN THE ADMINISTRATIVE MATTER OF:

COURT REPORTER COMPENSATION.

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER 2013-02

WHEREAS, the General Jurisdiction Judges of the Second Judicial District prefer the continued use of court reporters; and

WHEREAS, NRS 3.370(4) prescribes the per-page fee "for transcripts in criminal cases ordered by the court to be made;" and

WHEREAS, the judges and court reporters desire to preserve the existing relationships between reporter and judicial department, and avoid the pooling of reporters to be used among various departments; and

WHEREAS, the use of public resources must be carefully managed;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

- 1. Paragraph 5 of Administrative Order 2012-08 is modified to read as follows:
 - 5. The following criminal proceedings are hereby ordered to be transcribed:
 - a. All pre-trial proceedings for Class A felonies.
 - b. All arraignments in which a plea is entered.
 - c. All sentencings in which a defendant is sentenced to probation, diversion, or specialty court.
 - d. All probation revocation hearings in which probation is reinstated.
 - e. All grand jury proceedings.

- f. All bench warrant proceedings.
- g. All suppression hearings.
- 2. Any judge may, within his or her discretion, order that a specific criminal proceeding be transcribed.
 - 3. All other provisions of Administrative Order 2012-08 shall remain unchanged.

CHIEF DISTRICT JUDGE

1 **CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE** 2 I certify that I am an employee of SECOND JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT; that on the 8th day of Jehrvary _, 2013, I hand delivered, a true and correct copy of the attached 3 4 Administrative Order, addressed to: 5 Judges of the Second Judicial District Court Honorable Janet J. Berry-Department 1 6 Honorable Egan Walker-Department 2 Honorable Jerry Polaha-Department 3 7 Honorable Connie Steinheimer-Department 4 8 Presiding Judge Deborah Schumacher-Department 5 Honorable Brent Adams-Department 6 9 Honorable Patrick Flanagan-Department 7 Honorable Lydia Stiglich-Department 8 10 Honorable Scott N. Freeman-Department 9 11 Honorable Steven P. Elliott-Department 10 Honorable Chuck Weller-Department 11 12 Honorable Frances Doherty-Department 12 Honorable Bridget Robb Peck-Department 13 13 Honorable Linda Gardner-Department 14 14 District Court Administrator/Clerk of the Court 15 Second Judicial District Court 16 17 18 Court Clerk 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

27

28